Reading the Intellectual History of Regionalism

De Lombaerde, Philippe and Söderbaum, Fredrik, "Reading the Intellectual History of Regionalism" in Regionalism ed. De Lombaerde, Philippe and Söderbaum, Fredrik (London: Sage Publications, 2013), 17-48.

Document type:
Book Chapter

  • Attached Files (Some files may be inaccessible until you login with your UNU Collections credentials)
    Name Description MIMEType Size Downloads
    Reading_the_Intellectual_History.pdf Reading the Intellectual History.pdf application/pdf 1.50MB
  • Author De Lombaerde, Philippe
    Söderbaum, Fredrik
    Book Editor De Lombaerde, Philippe
    Söderbaum, Fredrik
    Chapter Title Reading the Intellectual History of Regionalism
    Book Title Regionalism
    Publication Date 2013
    Place of Publication London
    Publisher Sage Publications
    Start page 17
    End page 48
    Language eng
    Abstract Regionalism is a collection that has been created to capture and organize 60 years of research and policy discourse on regional integration and regionalism since the 1940s until today. The ambition of the collection is to contribute to the consolidation of a fragmented field of study, which is characterized by a lack of dialogue among academic disciplines, area specializations, as well as theoretical traditions and approaches. Progress in the field requires a better understanding of the intellectual roots of the field; it also requires that academics engage increasingly with other texts and theorists across time periods, discourses and disciplines, which is rather rare in the current debate. Regionalism provides the academic community of scholars with a collection of seminal articles that have contributed to shaping the thinking about regional integration, regionalism and regionalization during the past six decades. The four volumes are structured chronologically, reflecting the evolution of the subject. This organization shows historical dynamisms, the various lines of influence, cross-fertilization and descendence: Volume One: 1945-1970 Classical Regional Integration Volume Two: 1970-1990 Revisions of Classical Regional Integration Volume Three: 1990-2000 New Regionalism Volume Four: 2000-2010 Comparative Regionalism The collection includes three Nobel prize winners — Jan Tinbergen, Robert Mundell and Paul Krugman — next to pioneers such as Ernst Haas, Karl Deutsch, Joseph Nye, Raul Prebisch, Bela Balassa and more recent leading theorists such as Amitav Acharya, Jagdish Bhagwati, Björn Hettne, Peter Katzenstein, Andrew Moravcsik, Walter Mattli, and Iver Neumann.
    UNBIS Thesaurus Regional Integration
    Copyright Holder The Editors
    Copyright Year 2013
    Copyright type All rights reserved
    ISBN 9781446257180
  • Versions
    Version Filter Type
  • Citation counts
    Google Scholar Search Google Scholar
    Access Statistics: 507 Abstract Views, 61 File Downloads  -  Detailed Statistics
    Created: Fri, 13 Dec 2013, 16:50:13 JST